Testimonials

5
Rated 5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (based on 19 reviews)
Excellent100%
Very good0%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

Take a look at some of the wonderful testimonials that we have received.

Cresswell Beach walk – first Nordic Walking session

Rated 5 out of 5
3rd October 2022

Couldn’t have asked for a better introduction to Nordic Walking, the weather and scenery were stunning, great company and the tuition by Julie and Martin was first rate – will definitely be back for another 🙂

Lesley G

Great group

Rated 5 out of 5
12th June 2022

As I often wander off on a walk when alone this is a great group to join. Friendly, helpful and great coffee shops to start and end in….. recommended completely. Look forward to the next walk 😁😁😁😁👍

Jeni

Happy and energising 🤩

Rated 5 out of 5
8th February 2022

A group of us had the privilege of meeting Julie and Martin on a beautiful sunny morning in January, where they helped us understand the first stages of nordic walking.

I personally felt so ALIVE and energised, walking with poles and such a great group of people has so many benefits. An experience I will definitely repeat.

Patricia H

I’m really glad I found this group

Rated 5 out of 5
4th January 2022

I first joined Strolls with Poles in spring 2021. After a year of limited social contact, it was a breath of fresh air to be able to join a group in an outdoor activity that felt safe and welcoming. Julie and Martin are both friendly and easy going, making for relaxing get togethers. As someone who likes to be organised, the information both in the form of monthly newsletters and emails ensures all essential information is provided- location details, walk information, length of walk and most importantly, where the toilets are before the start of the walk!

Walking with the group in such varied and beautiful locations always lifts my spirits and knowing it is doing me good physically also is a bonus. Other group members are friendly and it’s great to catch up with a chat in the tea room at the end of the walk.

I’m really glad I found this group and would recommend it to anyone, I even got my sister involved when she was visiting from Scotland – she now Nordic walks too!

Lorraine

Have Fun and Get Fit

Rated 5 out of 5
4th January 2022

Really relaxing and fun time, with people who make you feel welcome. Scenery great and the cake at the end isn’t bad either. Plus you get fitter, what’s not to like.

Dave T

Dave T

I have enjoyed every minute

Rated 5 out of 5
3rd January 2022

I have discovered areas of the countryside I have never before visited, walking in the company of some great people in sunshine, rain, wind and fog and yes I have enjoyed every minute!

I was a bit apprehensive when I signed up for my first walk – I wasn’t very sure at all and had lots of questions.

Was I going to be fit enough? Would I hold everyone back? I surprised myself as to what I can do – walking and especially going up hills has proved easier with poles. Despite health issues limiting how often I could get out walking – I found the walks ideal with enough to challenge me but plenty of opportunities to stop and admire the view!

Would I be the odd one out faced with a clique of people who were already friends? From the very first moment I felt included – just as much a part of the group as if I had been going for years. It’s very relaxed and you can chat as much or as little as you want

How would I manage with the poles? Julie’s style of teaching is always encouraging and helpful. I have now done a basic instruction course but that was only after two walks – and I was pleasantly surprised how much I had picked up on my two walks I had already done. If I’m out walking now without poles – I miss them!

Philip

Joining was the best thing I’ve done in years

Rated 5 out of 5
3rd January 2022

I have been walking with Julie and Martin since the start of Strolls with Poles and just love it! The walks are varied and well planned, visiting some of the most beautiful spots in the North East. Everyone is made to feel so welcome no matter their fitness or walking experience. They have given me the confidence to try walks I never thought I could achieve and I have gone from a couch potato to doing long distance walks. Julie you are a star.

Sandra

Great walks, great folks to walk with.

Rated 5 out of 5
2nd January 2022

I moved to Northumberland in March 2021, and joining Strolls with Poles has enabled me to get out and explore the area. Julie and Martin are great instructors,supportive and make you feel very welcome. The walks cover all areas, and walking with the group is not hard as everybody supports and encourages each other and there are plenty of opportunities to stop and admire the view. I would recommend Strolls with Poles to anybody who wants to walk and explore our wonderful countryside with friendly folks and get fitter as a bonus, and there is always the tea shop at the end as a bonus.

TINA H

Life changing walks – love Nordic walking

Rated 5 out of 5
2nd January 2022

After starting walking with Strolls with Poles in April 21, I look forward to the weekend walks all week. I love the varied routes that Julie and Martin put together. I’ve seen so much of the beautiful region which I would have never explored on my own. Different folks turn up for each walk and there is such a supportive and inclusive community of walkers. I was worried about whether I’d be too slow or the walks would be too long but I didn’t need to worry at all, everyone is so encouraging and walks at an inclusive pace for everyone. The highlight of the walks is always the natter and catch up over coffee and cake as a reward at the end. Great to support some local independent cafes and businesses. Can’t wait to get out walking in 2022, just wish I’d found Strolls with Poles earlier!

Adele

Amble to Hauxley Nature Reserve

Rated 5 out of 5
6th November 2021

I have done a number of walks with Strolls with Poles and this one was beautiful. I am trying to increase the lengths of walks and this one pushes me to go that little bit further than I would on my own. Thanks to Julie, Martin and Anne for encouraging and supporting me.

Shirley H

Learning to walk again

Rated 5 out of 5
19th April 2021

My first nordic walk, and i really enjoyed it. The instructors were very patient and supportive and i was made to feel very welcome. I look forward to doing more walks with this very friendly group.

TINA H

Nordic walking training session

Rated 5 out of 5
18th April 2021

Fantastic teaching session today at Druridge bay, can’t believe how I haven’t found Nordic walking before now, I loved it! great session with very patient and enthusiastic coaches who supported you to understand the technique and put everyone at ease, really friendly bunch who I am sure I will Nordic walk with again in the future.

Adele

Get Up, Get Walking- You’ll Love It

Rated 5 out of 5
14th April 2021

My first walk was Bamburgh to Seahouses and back which was a beautiful, exhilarating walk.

My second Stroll with Poles was Allen Banks this last Sunday four seasons in one day but stunning.

The group is very friendly and supportive, you can have a chat and a laugh and get fit at the same time 😃 as well as seeing amazing scenery.

Julie and Martin are the heart of the group and are fantastic at what they do and lovely people too..

Love this group and will keep going and you will not regret joining us for a walk..

Donna

First Nordic Walk for me – Allen Banks

Rated 5 out of 5
12th April 2021

What a beautiful location for my first Nordic Walking experience. Julie made us newbies so welcome and after some initial training and group warm-up, we were off!

As a group of approximately 15 and varying levels of competency, I was pleased to see how the group were encouraged to walk at their own pace. We had a lead walker in Martin and Julie followed at the rear to support us slightly slower peeps.

All the walkers were really friendly and encouraged each other along the stunning walk through Allen Banks. I will definitely be along again soon to experience Nordic Walking in the beautiful Northumberland countryside.

Thank you Strolls with Poles x

Helen

Fabulous

Rated 5 out of 5
16th August 2020

Recent walks with Strolls with Poles have been amazing. The walk round Holy Island (while it was cut off by the tide) was beautiful. Then the walk round Rothbury was simply stunning. Walking with this group is always brilliant, great fun, many varied routes, and even the weather is usually kind. Looking forward to the coastal walk at Low Newton and Beadnell this weekend. Thank you Julie and Martin

Ruth B

Holy Island 18/07/2020

Rated 5 out of 5
18th July 2020

Amazing Nordic walk around Holy Island today. Fantastic scenery, weather and company, you just can’t ask for any more.

Robert

Can’t wait to get back into strolling

Rated 5 out of 5
28th May 2020

I’ve been with Julie’s amazing group from the beginning. I’ve missed the walks so much and can’t wait to get out with everyone again, it’s really a lovely group of people.

We have been on some absolutely beautiful walks. I would definitely recommend coming along and trying out one of the walks no matter what your fitness. Give it a try, you won’t be disappointed.

Christine A

Simply the best

Rated 5 out of 5
26th May 2020

Nothing can beat getting out in the fresh air and enjoying the very best our amazing coast and countryside has to offer. Unless of course you can do it with a fantastic group of likeminded people – that’s why I love Strolls with Poles. Everyone is so friendly and whether seasoned pro or total novice there’s a place in the group for you.

Kirsty X

A long time out

Rated 5 out of 5
26th May 2020

I have been with the group since it started and looked forward to going out walking. It is a very friendly group and what I like is you are not pushed, you go at your own pace as everyone has an off day. A lot of new members will not know me as I have been dogged with injury (my foot). I am recovering from my 2nd operation on it and it is going okay so far, it was a case of finding the right footwear, boots only. Looking forward to getting going again and getting some more great walks in. Let’s hope it is soon!! In the meantime, keep safe and see you all soon. Best wishes Bob x

ROBERT B

Submit a Review


Strolls with Poles – Nordic Walking for Fun and Fitness

Home | Blog | Walks | Sign-up | Contact